Music question

Ok I’m not that good at theory so I have a question …

If I did a song in a chord of A7 that means the chord is A - C - E - G right? So would I still have to raise the seventh (G) during the piece?

No.

So what would you do for a melodic scale?

NOTE: TO ANYONE WHO IS ACTUALLY WELL EDUCATED IN MUSIC THEORY, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO SMASH MY ADVICE TO PIECES IF I MAKE A MISTAKE. I COMPLETED ADVANCED RUDIMENTS IN LIKE 2 - 3 MONTHS :frowning:

That’s a dominant 7th chord right? You don’t have to raise the G. Just leave it. What you need to raise is the C. If the chord is in D major, it’s pretty obvious why you have to do it. But if it’s in D minor, you have to raise its leading tone. Either way, the C is raised.

No that’s just a … tonic 7th. The key is A minor.

Oh and I just thought of another question. If I wanted the chord of a minor 3rd say it would be minor, for a major 3rd it would be a major, for a diminished 3rd it would be diminished and for an augmented 3rd it would be an augmented chord, but what would I use for say a perfect 5th? Or have I got everything wrong and mixed up?

Wow fuck. I’ve never learned about building seventh chords on the tonic. My music theory book taught how to write dominant sevenths and diminished sevenths. That was it. Everything else was about writing triads on every degree of a scale. i r n00b :expressionless:

Intervals? Jeez, I hope I don’t screw up this time:

If you increase a perfect interval by one semitone, it’s still called augmented. However if you decrease that perfect interval by one semitone, it goes straight to diminished. No minor. So if you play a double stop consisting of C and G with C being the bottom note, and you decide to drop the G to a Gb, it would be a diminished fifth.

Well I kinda skipped my theory book (all it has mostly is singing and clapping and boring instrument stuff) and got the information off Wikipedia. I might be the noob.